A total fire ban has been issued for all of North Hastings.

That means all open-air fires are banned including those for cooking and warmth.  Lighting fireworks and flying lanterns are also banned.

The municipalities that are affected include:

  • Municipality of Hastings Highlands
  • Bancroft
  • Faraday Township
  • Wollaston Township
  • Tudor/Cashel Township
  • Carlow/Mayo Township
  • Limerick Township

Any persons found violating this ban could face fines and/or charges. Anyone deemed liable for a fire during this ban will face any costs as a result of the fire department’s response and actions taken to put the fire out.

The fire ban will stay in effect until we receive significant rainfall.