Total fire bans are being extended across all Central Ontario.

That means all open-air fires are banned including those for cooking and warmth.  Lighting fireworks and flying lanterns are also banned.

The municipalities that now have total fire bans include:

  • Municipality of Hastings Highlands
  • Bancroft
  • Faraday Township
  • Wollaston Township
  • Tudor/Cashel Township
  • Carlow/Mayo Township
  • Limerick Township
  • North Kawartha
  • Addington Highlands and North Frontenac

If you are found violating the fire ban you could face charges and fines.  If you start a fire while ignoring the ban you may have to pay the expense of having the fire department respond and any costs for the fire to be put out.

The fire ban will stay in effect until we get significant rainfall.